College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The belief that selecting the field for study should depend on the availabilty of the job in that field is a controversial one. This issue is increasingly important in today's diversified world. In current scenario selecting a field or course on the basis of the current job availabilty can lead to serious problem in future. Many people believe that selecting a course field on the basis job would ease the process of getting job after study, but these people overlook the scenario, that the demand for this is in current period one cannot predict with certainity what would happen in future. In this essay, I will argue that rather than selecting field on the basis of the job availablity, one should select the field on the basis of his/her interest.

There are many good reasons for selecting job in the area we have interest. Firstly, taking a job in the area of interest would give us the needed push and confidence to face problems and also think innovatively to solve or move around it. Passion is of greater importance then profession. Taking a field of our interest we would be able to excel to the highest position in that field and in turn would in turn lead the way of entire company/Organisation in that field. No other thing makes one happy other than leading an organisation or company from end.

Usually a course or study in a particular field needs more that 2 years. And within this period there can be a change in the availablity of the job of that field. So no one can accurately judge or say that uptill what time this field would be able to generate jobs. For example, one of my friend with me in high grades took Electronics and Communication(EC) as his bachelor's course. At that time EC field at highest pay and job availability, but within next three years the job availablity decreased drastically and he had to struggle for getting a job.

Continuing the above said, if one is working in the field of his interest and if there is a recession for that particular field, still he/she would be standing out of the crowd and would be first in the queue for job.

I have argued that taking a job on the basis of interest and passion rather than availabilty of job would give the person an upper hand overall the upcoming difficulty, and on the other said one would need to change the field of study or wait for the job availability. Finally, passion is like a stream of water it would make it way on its own either by breaking things coming in middle or by moving around it.