Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

In Happy Pancake House restaurants, the butter has been replaced by margarine and the minimal amount of people have complained against it and contrary to this even when the people who have complained are served margarine instead of butter they have happily accepted it. Therefore, the author of this argument draws an optimistic conclusion that to cut the cost of purchasing butter, the Happy House should apply this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well. However, the argument is problematic in several aspects.

The chief reason for my disagreement lies in the fact that here the obvious doubt arises is on the credibility of the customers who were asked for the survey. It is highly possible that the customers who were asked are the employees working for the restaurants. Moreover, here it is given that about 2 percent of customers have complained about this change but the author fails to provide the statistics data of the total number of people. Does it take into account the customers of whole southwestern? If not then just based on a survey of 100 random customers they can not assert that same will be the condition for southeast as well as northeast regions.

Secondly, it is stated that many servers have reported that customers do not complain when they are served margarine instead, but how many servers to be very precise? If this number is very less then that data would not be sufficient and based on such data we cannot assert that customers who have asked for the butter accept the margarine instead. Moreover, it is highly possible that the customers of southwestern United States cannot distinguish between two items but that does not mean that same would be the case in other regions, customers in other regions might have the ability to spot the difference.

Finally, without any proof, we are being asked to believe that customers cannot distinguish between two items or they may use the term butter to refer either of the items. The author fails to provide the evidence to support his claim. It is highly possible that it is very easy to distinguish these two items from their taste, smell or from their color. Therefore, providing customers margarine instead of butter would be betrayal and customers would not accept it.

In my final analysis, I conclude that the argument is unconvincing as it stands. The mere assumptions are not enough to justify the argument and the author must provide some credible data of analysis to strengthen his argument.