A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The author of this argument has drawn an conclusion from the disjoint facts and baseless assumptions that the recalled food was not responsible for the various symptoms seen in pets as all the chemicals used in making of food was approved chemicals and therefore the company should not devote further resources for the investigation purpose. However, the argument is problematic in several respects.

To begin with, as it is stated that the pets who had consumed this food experienced various problems like vomiting,lethargy, and other signs of illness there has to be some problems in the food, otherwise same problems will not occur with so many pets. Therefore the author here cannot claim that company should not give further resources for the investigation.

Secondly, it is given that after recall, the samples of pet food were tasted, but based on testing some samples from millions of samples one can never assure that food provided to pets was not in fault.

Moreover, it is highly possible that the chemicals that were approved had some side effects afterwards. Therefore, without taking into account these all possibilities it would be baseless to make any assertion.

Finally, it is given that company had tested the samples but nowhere it is mentioned that they had certified report or assurance of test.

It casts the doubt on the certainty of the test conducted. Moreover, a company cannot take a risk by not devoting further resources to the investigation as if it is found that the food provided by them was the real reason for all these symptoms then it would deteriorate the respect and fame of company to a great extent.

In my final analysis, I conclude that the argument is as unconvincing as it stands. The author fails to provide the adequate evidence and mere assumptions are not enough to prove the claim. Therefore, in order to strengthen his argument, the author must provide strong evidence is support of his assertion.