A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The argument here concludes that there is some relation of birth order with the level's of stimulation of an individual. The argument here provides study of rhesus monkey's as the baseline for this conclusion and also mentions about the humans showing same results. The argument is full of gaps and loop holes since it presents fragmentarly evidence.Neither are the premises convising nor is the conclusion compelling. The argument is very evidently the result of a hasty generalization.

Firstly, the argument here mentions about a study on eighteen rhesus monkeys and concludes that first born monkeys produce twice as much as cortisol compared to its younger siblings. But the author here doen't mentions about what the gender and the age of monkeys. The main point here is the secretion of an hormone, and the secretion of an hormone can vary with the gender and also the age of monkeys. The author here needs to specify the gender and age of the monkeys on which the study was based on.

Secondly, the argument here mentions about the humans. That the firstborn human produces relatively higher levels of cortisol. The word relatively in the sentence needs to clartified. It can be the case that this relative high hormone can be due to gender or age difference of this hormonal difference can be actually neglible to be counted.

Thirdly, the argument mentions about the first time mother monkeys and those who have given several offspring. But the argument here doesn't site the information about mother. It can be the case that older mother doen't care about their food or nutrition, as they cared during their first child.

The argument is the result of huge speculation in which the author has comfortably assumed a considerable amount of data. Had the author taken the above discussed factors into view, it would have rendered the argument irrefutable. But whatever is presented fails to provide a holistic picture to the superfluous claims being made.