A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The author of this analytical piece has drawn a conclusion based on disjoint facts and baseless assumptions that regular dental care does not help to militate against the tooth decay. To support his assertion, he has presented a case of children living in Himalayan mountain and in suburban areas in United States where children living in Himalayan mountain do not receive professional dental care and contrary to this, the children in United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. However, the argument is problematic in several respects.

To begin with, it is stated that a study was conducted recently, but when was it conducted to be very precise? If it was conducted couple of years back then it is highly possible that now children living in Himalayan mountain are provided good dental care. Therefore the information presented here is obfuscated. Moreover, it does not throw light at the number of children who were taken into account while conducting the study. If the number is minimal then it creates the doubt on the credibility of study, as based on study of few children we can not make a firm conclusion for the children of whole region.

Secondly, it is highly possible that the children of Himalayan region are leading a healthy life style and contrary to this the children of United States are not focused more on their health. This explains that despite the children receive decent dental care in United States, its their lifestyle and what they eat are more responsible for the tooth decay.

Thirdly, it is stated that people in suburban areas in United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year but nowhere it is mentioned that the children visit the dentist regularly. As average indicates the whole public, it is highly possible that it is adults and elders who often visit dentist and therefore here assuming that regular dental care in not helpful would be mistaken.

Finally, here we are being asked to believe that an average of 1.25 visit per year is enough to prevent tooth decay but author has not provided any evidence to justify this. Therefore, it is highly possible that the way children leading their lifestyle in suburban areas of United States, they need to visit more in order to prevent the tooth decay.

In my final analysis, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. Mere assumptions are not enough to justify the claim of the author. Therefore to strengthen his argument, the author must provide the statistical data that is credible and author must provide the strong evidence.