Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for th

Critical judgement of any work deals with its detailed analysis that gives the report of the work being prosaic or worthy of appreciation. Criticism of any work in any field is important as it brings about the cogency and degree of precision of the work. So it is necessary that the critical analysis be done by the expert in the field so as to enhance the points which cannot be observed by a laymen. So my opinion that the critical judgement be provided by a work in a field is affirmative.

Firstly, a laymen, or the one who is not expert in the field would only be capable of analyzing the superficial matters of the work and would not be able to find deep implications of the work due to lack of profound knowledge. As for example for an art work such as a painting or a sculpture, a n expert would be able to appraise the work and would be able to analyze the work in detail. The expert would be knowing what an abstract painting would represent while on the other hand for a laymen it would just be a piece of some drawing and the judgement would be on the basis of similarity with the real life as a laymen would lack artistic imagination.

Secondly, an expert knows much about a subject as he/she has gone through a lot of study through out his/her life, while on the other hand a laymen would just have a superficial knowledge of the subject and so their analysis might not be credible. It can even be quoted that

'A little knowledge is harmful'

For example, in the field of car design a laymen would only be able to opine about the looks of the car and how beautiful it looks or how sleek the design is? But a laymen would not be able to appreciate and give reason about the sleekness or a particular kind of design. While an expert would be knowing that sleekness decreases the drag force which brings about an increase in the fuel efficiency of the car as well as the looks of the car.

Finally, it is always not important that only the judgement of the experts are correct in a field. For example for a critical analysis of the book, it is possible that the expert is subjective and likes the book because of some part that the expert would have a propensity for. While on the contrary a laymen would dislike the book and the other readers may also either like or dislike a book. So sometimes when the criticism is subjective, there are problems both on the expert's side and the laymen side to judge the work.

To sum up, these are the points which leads me to follow the statement and consider it to be affirmative.