Scandals can be useful in that they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

In political area, scandals could inform people of the government officials’ misconduct. For example, the notorious Watergate incident reveals that Richard Nixon, the former president of the United State, used government resources to wiretap his political opponents’ telephones and burgle the democratic party’s Watergate complex in Washington D.C. Had it not been for the scandals, people would have not been able to discover President Nixon’s misconduct and impeach him. Furthermore, for fear of the scandals, officials would not take advantage of the government resources for their private interests. Thus, the scandals could inform people of government officials’ misconduct and prevent officials from illegally appropriating the government resources, exerting a positive influence on the social welfare.

In business area, scandals could reveal company’s misconduct, which would benefit customers’ interests. For example, scandals expose that a Chinese dairy company, called Sanlu, added harmful substances, called melamine, to the milk it produces in order to make the milk taste better. Such misconduct has let the company generate several million dollars of illegal profits. Yet the harmful substances would be very detrimental to people’s health and would even lead to fatal diseases. Only after the scandal, did the authority notice Sanlu’s illegal behavior and severely punish the company. Furthermore, due to this scandal, other dairy companies in China have all promised to take precautions and ensure the safety of their products. Thus, the scandal has had a positive impact on the customers’ interests.

However, some people use scandals to make fame and money without any respect for privacy and they even fabricate some fictitious scandals to attract people’s attention. For example, a famous TV media in China published news that a Japanese company, called MUJI, exported foods from nuclear polluted areas near Fukushima nuclear plants in Japan to mainland China and these foods would pose a big threat to Chinese people’s health, causing a big panic in the society. However, the truth is that the headquarter of MUJI is located near the nuclear polluted area but the foods are produced elsewhere, far away from the polluted areas, fully conform to the Chinese food safety criteria, and have no threat to people’s health. Such fictitious scandals would focus people’s attention on trivial issues and have a negative influence on people’ lives. Thus, people should develop the ability of critical thinking in order to avoid these unreal scandals. Otherwise, they are very likely to be overwhelmed by the fake information and waste their valuable time.

To sum up, scandals, such as in political area and business area, can be useful in that they focus people’s attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Yet people should develop the ability of critical thinking in order to avoid the fictitious scandals.