The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing, in his note does a comparison of in-job incident of his factory with Panoply Industries, and according to one hour shorter working hour at Panoply industries, he assumes that possible reason for the current increment accidents in his manufacturing is for the sake of tiredness and sleep deprivation of his labors; therefore, he is planning to reduce the working hours to an hour fewer than the current schedule to prevent possible accidents and increase the efficiency. This conclusion cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on the series of assumptions all of which are doubtful and requires more support for their verifications.

The first fallacious assumption is based on the comparison of two industries about which there is no sufficient clue to give adherence that they are identical. In fact, the type of occupations at two factories are not mentioned which provide this possibility to assume that the Panoply Industries plant possesses a low-risk type of acts in contrast of the Quiot Manufacturing which owns risk-full job for workers. In this scenario, the ratio of facing the working-peril by workers in the Panoply Industries plant is fewer than the Quiot Manufacturing. Or even with the consideration of the same type of industry for both cases, as long as there is no information about the working conditions and safety system of two factories, the generalization of implemented program, one hour shorten the working schedule, in the Panoply Industries plant to the Quiot Manufacturing is not a wise action. Because of the probability of the more safe and immune working condition at the Panoply Industries plant which prevents in-job accidents.

Another problem with the memo is the holistic sentence of experts which is referred to as a supporting clue for the reduction of the working hour. As mentioned in the memo, experts bolded the tediousness and lack of sleep as the main factors of the on-job accident; while this sentence in the first glance seems appealing it is so general to get that much-specified conclusion about the working hours of Quiot Manufacturing. Actually, there is a list of the vital parameters which can be led to an in-job calamity such as the lack of knowledge of working with machines. This factor may not own the same importance as the fatigue and sleepless, but it is not that much insufficient to be overlooked. There is the probability that during the last year the majority of the accidents had occurred at the Quiot Manufacturing is by the newly-employed labors who did not know how to work with machines and for the sake of their careless actions, those events took place. Thus, without specification of the main reason for the recent accidents in the at the Quiot Manufacturing, this holistic and vague sentence by experts cannot be a good reference.

Finally, in the case which the long working hours and fatigues are the reasons of the current accident in the Quiot Manufacturing, there is no piece of evidence that shorten working hours will cause the increment of working productivity which is assumed will happen with the reduction of the working hours in three shifts. For instance, maybe the reason of less efficiency is the amount of the working force which does not fulfill the entire requirements, in this case, by the elimination of one hour from whole shifts, this insufficiently of labors will get more severe than previous.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons explicitly depict who this memo is skeptical and requires further explanation on the identically of two industries and their working condition for comparison, the effectiveness of the experts’ sentence over the reduction of the working risk and enhancement of productivity.