The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

The author claims here that to provide assitence to laid off employees, we must hire delany's service rather than walsh personnel firm. The argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion author reasons that delany's firm has higher number of staff and it's expensive than Walsh personnel firm. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for author's conclusion. Hence, this argument can be considered unsubstantiated or incomplete.

Firstly, argument readily assumes that last year who opted for delany's firm other than walsh's firm, they got quickly job. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if who took delany's firm, he/she is more suitable for perticular job. And it also do not provide info about how many perosons got the job quickly. Hence argument would have been much more convincing if it would have provided information about the people who got the jobs and how many numbers of people opted for the firm.

Moreover, author states here that delany's firm is more expensive than walsh's firm so, choosing it is a mistake. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correct correlation between being expensive firm and being good firm. To illustrate further, it can possible to be expensive because less number of people opted for the firm, and it is also possible that the firm which is less expensive than other has higher number of success rate than other. If the argument had provided evidence in support of expensive firm and explained that it is also successful firm then it would have been much more convincing to reader.

Finally, the author cites that the number of people working in delany's firm is greater than the other so it would be a better option. However, careful examination of evidence reveals that it provides little support for author's conculsion and raises skeptical question. For example, How quantity is better than the quality?, and how it is possible that the firm has higher number of employees is better option?. Without convincing answer to this questions, the reader is left with the impression that the author's claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. to bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey or detailed analysis of comperison between Delany and Walsh's firm. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what is the conversion rate of both the firm for to provide job for the employees?