The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Argument here states that Acme company should take Easy Read course for the employees. This argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, author reasons that many companies have taken this course for their employees, and it would be beneficial to the Acme company. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provide little justification to author's conclusion. Hence the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, argument readily assumes that many companies have taken this course and has greatly improved the productivity. This is merely and assumption made without much solid ground. Argument does not mentions the details about companies. There can be possibility that number of companies have taken this course is small compared to Acme. And there is also possibility that number of employees in these company are small and have great readers. However, argument would have been much more better if it explicitly stated about companies names, number of employees, and also the progress graph of these employees.

Secondly, author argues here that one graduate who have taken this course can read 500 pages book in 2 hours. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it does not demonstrate clear concrete correlation between acme company and this graduate. For instance, if graduate was reading many books during his study time and he/she has already better reading speed and this course have not improved his reading speed. This argument have been lot more convincing to reader if it had given information either by means of detailed analysis of their course taker or by doing general survey on the employees that had take course.

Moreover, argument state that if acme company choose to take this course for their employees that will be very helpful to their company. However careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provide little support for author's statement in various critical aspects and raises skeptical questions. For example, what are the number of employees in Acme company?, How reading will help Acme company?, It is affordable to them or not?. Without convincing answer to these questions reader is left with the impression that author's argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, author must provide clear and more concrete information about Speed reading course and its benefits, perhaps by means of survey or detailed analysis of employees that have taken this course. To better asses this argument, argument should also provide the information regarding Acme Company's work and how this course will improve their work.