The following appeared in a memorandum from the CEO of a consumer electronics manufacturing firm to the head of the company's human resources department, who is responsible for hiring new employees:

“Eight years ago, our firm’s profits were increasing with each new employee we added. We discovered that each employee had the skills and motivation to generate more revenue for the firm than his or her salary cost us. However, for the past two years, our profit margin has been falling, even though we have continued to add employees. Thus, our newer employees are not generating enough revenue to justify their salaries. We must not be hiring new employees with the same level of skills and motivation as those we used to attract. Clearly, then, failures in the human resources department account for our falling profits.”

The author of the argument claims that company profit is going down as employee hired by human resources department are not capable enough to generate profit. To support his claim, author cites the reason that eight years ago firm was making profit with the addition of new skilled work force in the organization. The author also suggests that human resources department should not hire new employee with same level of skills as the firm has earlier. Because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language of the argument, the claim made by the author is deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author consider the loss of profit is due to the new employee, who are not skilled enough to generate more revenue. This author fails to identify the other reason apart from new skilled employee. There might be other reasons, which are mainly responsible for the decrease of profit. The operating cost may have increased, competition in the may have increased with the introduction of new competitor or the customer base might have remain the same with increase of running cost. Had the author provided data that revenue loss is due to new less skill employee, the argument could have been strengthened.

Secondly, author claims that new employees are not skilled enough to generate revenue, which is deeply flawed. There is a possibility that the office environment is suitable for employee the exercise this skills to tackle issues faced by the firm. For instance, the company might have develop hire and fire culture if monthly targets are not meet. The fear of losing job prevent employee to express this skills or block their mind set. The author must provide evidence that the office environment is friendly and supportive, but due to the lack of skills of employees make the company unprofitable.

Lastly, the author directly blames human resources department that they are not able to hire skilled manpower, which eventually cost the company in terms of revenue loss. This assumption is unwise because the market scenario might have changed after hiring new employee such as new competitor have come into the market or government might have impose new taxes on the companies that directly linked to revenue. Without any evidence that there is no change in the market place, it is unwise to blame human resources department solely.

Because of the various flaws mentioned above, the argument is unconvincing. However, had the author mentioned that there is no change in market in last 8 years and skill level of new employee are the only reason of profit loss, the argument would have been strengthened.