The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station To reverse a decline in listener numbers our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock music format The decline has occurred despite population growth in o

The memo has mentioned, in order to reverse the decline in the number of listeners of the radio station, the type of music that broadcasting should be changed. Although the reasons provided by the author looks persuasive at the first glance, when we delve deeper into his reasoning we could find holes and prepositions without supporting information. He assumed, there is a direct relation between the type of music and the number of listeners but he fails to provide adequate evidence to prove it. I could not accept this memo as it is due to three reasons and I will explain them now.

First of all, the writer has alleged that the number of listeners in general increased but he did not address any survey or additional information to support it. The base of his memo is on this assumption and if it is not correct, whole of the memo and his reasoning fall apart. If this is the case, it may the total number of listeners decreased and this station also lose some listeners and it is not due to the type of music or any other fault of the radio station.

Moreover, the author believe retirement do not like rock-music and because the number of retirement increased in this area consequently the number of this radio station decreased. In order to prove this premise, the writer should provide some data and information from scientific research that shows aforementioned conclusion. However, the author did not mention any.

In addition, the writer concludes that there is limited interest in music because the amount of recorded music sales declined. There may some other possibilities for this decline that may be unrelated to the subject of this memo. It could be a result of the advancement of technology. If this is the case, people may prefer to download their favorite music instead of buying form stores. Thus, the reason that provided by the author could not hold true for all possibilities and the author should provide additional information to remove other possibilities.

In conclusion, in order to make the memo more cogent and persuasive for readers, the author should provide additional information and remove other possibilities by conducting research or comprehensive investigations.