The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The writer concludes that instead switching the music format tailored to the people's tastes, we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area. In order to support his conclusion, he has cited various evidences such as declining in local sales of recorded music and the growth of the people who were mainly retired. Although, these evidences appear to bolster the argument presented above, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to present more specific evidences in order to make his argument to hold water.

First of all, the author has not presented the statistics of by how much the local sales of recorded music is decling. Perhaps, he is just presenting his personal views. If it is his totally individual perception, then the way he came into the conclusion might be logical and true.One the other hand, even if he was presenting the official data, he has not mentioned the authority which has conducted the research, possibly, it might be counterfeit data. Additionally, even if it was conducted by a trustworthy intitution, it is possible that, the cardinal reason for delcining the local sales of recorded music is because of the advancement of modern technology. If they find it in youtube or Netflix, then they won't go to buy recorded music.

Second of all, despite the population growth mailny resulted from peolpe moving here after retirement, the author unwarrantly assumed here the retired population are of older age. One the other hand, he has assumed that older population doesn't like rock music, it is possible that, despite of older age, they have predisposition to like rock music. For example, in my area, there are so many older age people who specifically like rock music. In the area, where the author is talking, it might be the same.

Thid of all, the author has not mentioned why the number of listener is declining. The author need to find the primary reason for declining. Instead of targeting new people, they can retrive the old listeners. Indeed, the quality of the music might be another key factor for declining the listeners. So the author must present the quality of the music. Only when we can go into the conclusion.

In sum, due to the absence of especific evidences presented above, the author's conclusion doesn't hold water. In order to make his argument more sound and more persuasive, he must cite the especific evidences above. Without these evidences, I cannot agree with the author's conclusion.