The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the WWAC radio station states that they have decided to change from its current rock-music format to reduce decline in listener numbers. Owners of the radio station have decided to change to a news or talk format as local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. There must be proper evidence to support the argument.

Firstly, before concluding that they must change from the current music format of the radio station they have to show the evidence that they have checked all the possible reasons for the decline in listener numbers. They have to conduct surveys to know if the people in that area don't have interest in rock-music format. The survey should consider the interests of the people and should know if the people listen to other radio stations. If they conduct a proper survey which observes that people listen to other radio stations and people avoid listening to WWAC radio because of its current rock-music format, then it could offer support to the argument.

Secondly, before switching to music format tailored to the tastes of new residents, they should consider few things. The first thing is they should know if new residents are aware of WWAC. The second thing is they should know whether the news residents are interested in listening music from radio.

Thirdly, the manager states that they should change to a news and talk format because of continuing decline in local sales of recorded music. They have to consider the reasons of decline in local sales. Most people in that area may not be interested in listening to a radio and maybe interested in listening music from other sources. If this is the case, then switching to a news and talk format will be no of use. If most people in that area are interested in news and talk format from any radio station, then it offers support to the argument.

Before concluding that they must change from its current rock-music format or change to a news and talk format they should show proper evidence. The manager should survey if the people in that area are avoiding WWAC because of its current rock-music format or because of other reasons. The above evidences can help in evaluating the argument.