The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above prompt discusses about the receded audience who listen to the radio and the ways in which this situation can be reversed. The whole claim is based on numerous assumptions, and the reasons stated for the plummet in the number of listeners are flimsy and circumstantial.

Firstly, the WWAC has suggested a change from its rock music format to accrue the listeners count. This suggestion may or may not work. There is no hard proof that the decline is because of the rock music, and it cannot be guaranteed that the situation will be reversed by changing the rock music format.

Secondly, the author has said the population in that area has augmented, and yet the listeners count is low. In this case, maybe people have switched to other modes of music, as today we have tons of devices from which we can listen to music, like ipods, phones, laptops, etc. In today’s world, we have advanced technology where, people can listen to any kind of music according to their moods, or discover new music genres, and listen to music with their friends even when they are in different places. The recorded system of music does not have any of these features. For example, the app Spotify, which can be downloaded in any mobile phones, offers all the above mentioned features and is one of the top music apps that is being downloaded by people all around the world as we speak. Although the customer has to pay a certain amount to enjoy these attributes, the prices would be less when compared to recorded systems with limited features. People share their love for music through this app. Additionally, the radio systems and recorded music is obsolete and cumbersome to handle as well, which is why people prefer other devices to listen to music. Even if they did switch to a music format tailored to the listener’s tastes, it is one of the many features provided by modern music devices. And this switch cannot affirm the increase in listeners.

Furthermore, according to the author there is a decline in the local sales of recorded music, and that suggests the defecit interest in music, which is a fallacy. There are multiple ways to measure the interest of the listeners, the local sales of recorded music is not the only way. For example, What if a person is zealous about music, but does not listen to it through recorded music? What if this person listens to music through her phone? Hence, the local sales cannot be the only determining factor of appraisement of interest.

In conclusion, this prompt is not infallible, and is based on numerous assumptions. To take a count of the people who have a predilection for music, surveys could be conducted on how many people listen to music, what kind of music and the mode by which they listen to music. This would be a good start, but to get more accurate numbers a more comprehensive research needs to be conducted.