The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station concludes that implementing a change in its broadcasting format will lead to boost in number of listeners. He comes to this conclusion based on the nature of new residents in the listening area and the reduction in sales of recorded music. While this may be a valid argument, there are three pieces of evidence which will provide further evaluation on the credibility of the claim.

Firstly, there is a need of concrete proof to show that the residents have limited interest in music. According to the author, a reduction in sales implies that the people are no longer interested in music this however might not be true. For example, it is possible that this conclusion was drawn based on faulty data. The people involved in sales of local music may have made some alterations in the sales record. It is also possible that the residents made a switch in their method of listening to music. Perhaps, because of technological advancements, they made a switch from use of local records to streaming diverse kinds of music online. If there is evidence to prove that any of this is true, it means that the author’s claim is not logical and should be disregarded.

Secondly, there is a need for detailed information about the new residents in the listening area. The author assumes that the majority of the immigrants no longer work. This might not be the case. For example, it may be that there was no scientific approach carried out in determining the nature of work of the new residents and the author made his conclusions based on hearsays. Even if there is proof that the new residents are of a certain age which is considered as retirement age, another possibility could be that the people in this category are involved in some other kind of menial jobs and trades which still consumes much of their time and as such even a change in broadcasting content may not make much difference. If any of this is true, this weakens the author’s argument.

Lastly, there is need for proof that a change from music to a news and talk format will be successful. The author’s seems sure that making such a transition will guarantee a reversal in decline of number of listeners, this might be false. For example, it is possible that the station does not have the capacity to produce quality news and talks content, if the quality of production is low, this might not galvanize the interests of the listeners. Also, it is possible that the issue with the majority of the residents is not the content of the radio station, what if the residents lack access to radios? If any of the above stated examples is true, then the author’s argument is not credible and should not be taken seriously.

In conclusion, the manager of WWAC radio station concludes that a change in its broadcasting format will reverse a decline in the number of listeners. However, as it stands now, there are many holes in the author’s argument which makes it implausible, before further considerations can be made, the author must provide three pieces of evidence as stated above