"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director concludes that Super Screen Movie Production Company should channel more of its future budget into advertising in order to boost the attendance rate in their movies. He comes to this conclusion based on a report conducted by the marketing department coupled with the feedback received from movie reviewers. While the author's assertion might be true, there are three questions that must be answered in order to assess the credibility of his claim.

Firstly, the author based his claim on a recent report from the marketing department, is the report 100% valid? This might not be true. It is possible that the staff of the marketing department might have made some alterations in the record of attendence. Also, it might have been that, due to carelessness or some other behaviour on the end of the marketers, some of the documents containg the list of persons in attendance were lost. If the above stated examples proves true, then the author's argument does not hold water and should be discredited. question proves that the report.

Secondly, can the occurence which happened in the past year be taken as indicative of future events? Perhaps the turnout at the movies in the past year was just an anomaly. It might have held at an unfavourable season for most of the participants for example during an end of the year session when most students who would have attended the event were preparing for their exams. Posssibly also, the previous year could have been a period of economic recession and as much most people could nor afford to watch the movie. If the above stated examples are true, this diminishes the validity of the author's claim.

Thirdly, are the comments given by the reviewers, which constitute a small percent of the community, a true representation of the people's preference. This might not be the case. It could be that while the reviwers found the movie displayed last year exciting, the people though otherwise. If the above stated examples are true, this diminishes the validity of the argument.

In conclusion, the statement of the director in which he concludes that Super Screen Movie Production Company should channel more of its future budget into advertising in order to boost the attendance rate in their movies stands upon unwarranted three assumptions as shown above. The director should provide answers to the questions in order to further access the credibility of the claim.