Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Should leaders be flexible or rigid? This topic of discuss divides people into two main categories; those who believe leaders should be amenable and others who are of opinion that a person’s ability to commit to principles and objectives is the most essential trait of leadership. From my point of view, I am more aligned with the second position for two reasons. However, I do concede that leaders may occasionally need to maintain a firm stance especially in extreme cases where the demands of the people pose a threat to the nation.

Firstly, democracy which by definition is the government of the people, by the people and for the people proves that a leader’s sole responsibility and in fact the measure of his/her effectiveness center’s around the people. In Africa, local government chairs are elected to cater for the needs of the communities they represent. Imagine a scenario where one of such communities suffers an unexpected natural disaster such as flooding, leading to the destruction of properties and thus requiring urgent attention, if the leader who chooses to stick with an earlier planned budget and invokes the rule against diversification of funds such a person would have only shown ineptness and is likely to be unseated.

Secondly, a leader who listens to no one stands is at the risk of making rash decisions that affect the nation. For example, Adolf Hitler, an authoritarian who opposed communism and capitalism had aggressive foreign policy which was against the wish of the people and this is considered the primary cause of secpnd world war in Europe. Evidently, a leader who wants to function effectively must be subject and open to the views of the people.

It is true that a leader might sometimes need to turn deaf ears against the people. An example of this is seen in the End Sars nationwide protest against police brutality which took place in Nigeria October 2019. Although the demands of the people were harmless, the manner of the protest resulted in loss of lives, consequently a state of emergency which adversely affected the economy of the state. In order to prevent forestall further damage and the occurrence of war, the President Buhari enforced the use of military to put an abrupt end to the protest.

In summary, leaders are made to serve the people therefore; the satisfaction of the people should be a greater priority than obedience to principles and regulations.