The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at

8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations

will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs

during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business

without having to eliminate jobs.”

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the

reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument addressed a recommendation to reduce the working houring of local coffee shop in order to reduce the operating costs and increase overall profit. This recommendation would be evaluated through answers of a set of questions that challenge this recommendation validation.

For instance, the owner of the coffee shop should provide a clear logic answer about the percent of the shop's customer and shop's visitors within the period that he/she recommended to close the shop during which. Perhaps, in these intervals of times it is expected to recieve some of the special customers that are attending this shop on daily basis. Then, the reputation and a constant percent of profit would be be reduced.

In addition, the owner need to answer about what is the reputation influence of this recommendation of reducing the operating hours daily during weekends and working days. Maybe people would think that the shop is closed for some repair works and would think that it is not a good idea to attend this shop even in the openning hours untill this assumed repair works to be finished to guarantee an acceptable service level for example.

Moreover, a question need to be answered properly regarding the amount of the money saved as a result of this recommended working hours time table. Perhaps the amount of moeny saved is not comparible to the rist that would be taken upon both reputation and percent of current customers reduction. Thus, the overall evaluation of the owner's recommendation is not the best effective way to increase shop's overall profit.

Futhermore, this shop's owner need to provide answers for questions that is wandering abou the other possible procedure and strategies that could guarantee increase in the shop's overall profit without or even with less expected risks. Maybe there are other simpler and proper ways to increase profit such as organizing an event to attract more customers for example.

These previously demonstrated questions are a sample of a set of questions that enable a proper evaluation of the coffee shop owner's recommendation validation. As well as the owner need to provide evidences and answers to all questions that might float in readers and shop's workers minds about this recommendation in order to guarantee a proper profit development strategy.