The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore concludes that in order to increase profit, operating expenses at Movies Galore’s must be reduced. Moreover, he states that the Marston located at downtown reduced their expenses by reducing the closing time, hence they should also follow the same strategy. However, the conclusion drawn might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted evidences that if not substantiated would dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Hence the following evidenced must be provided.

Firstly, the owner states that since the Marston located at downtown had gained profit by reducing their working hours, their profit will also be increased if they follow Marston’s approach. However, we don’t have any information about the location where the stores are situated. There are possibilities that population in downtown to be high which could increase their sales. Also, their closing time can be due to population of people at night. Maybe Marston noted that population at night was less so that they closed their store early? If this is true then we don’t have information about people in the city where Galor is situated. It is possible that they enjoy to rent movies at night which would cause them to open their stores at night.Hence, closing the stores early would reduce their profit.

Secondly, we don’t have information about the present month sales and profit of store at downtown. The owner states that since the last month sales were high, adopting Marston store scheme this month would increases their profits. If the profit were to decline this month for the downtown store then there is a possibility that adapting their scheme now would reduce profit at Galor store. Thus, the owner haven’t gathered any information about the past and future sales of the store in downtown.

Thirdly, there is no information about the type of movies they Galor sell as rentals. Every person have their own favourite genre in movies. During the reduced sales, maybe people didn’t like the movies that were made that time. If that were so, then the reason for decline in profit wouldn’t be due to the operating expenses. Thus, the author disregarded the possibility of movies which could have been flopped and detested by the society which led to the non-rental of movies and reduction of profit.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed and relies on several unwarranted evidenced. If the owner is able to provide the above three pieces of evidences and perhaps provide a systematic study, then there will be a possibility that the profit can be increases by reducing the closing hours of the store at Galor.