The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is n

It is the rule of fundamental mathematics that, profit is equal to revenue subtracted by cost. So it is easy to think that, if you reduce cost, your profit will increase. However, it is essential to know, at which areas to cut the cost. It should not happen that, reducing the cost eventually minimizes the turnover/revenue of the company, thereby, reducing the profit.

First of all, Owner of the Movies Galore claims that, their store in downtown Marston significantly reduced the cost by closing the shop early and removing old inventory. But he fails to provide any information on profits increased by this action. The question that must be asked is, did this action proved fruitful? Profit margin increased by what percentage? If the action was not fruitful, maybe because the population used by visit shop after 6pm, then owner must investiagate other mediums of cost cutting. Also, if the increase in profit margin is not significant, like 0.1% of total profit, then the cost cutting might not be the solution to increase the profit. May be his shop is not known to all of the Marston people, in that case spending more on advertisement may lead to increased store visits and eventually, more profit.

Furthermore, even if we assume that, reduction in opearaional expense at the Marston store proved profitable, does that mean it will be profitable to all the stores? Marston store was in downtown, let’s say other stores are in rural areas where age demographic of the population is old, which favours retro videos. If those retro videos are not available in the stores, it will surely decrease their sell and consequently their profit. Hence, if the owner answers the mentioned question, it will allow him to look at customer demographic and to take decision accordingly. Also, it will allow him to take decisions designed for particular store there by reducing false generalisation.

While it is clear that owner of the Movies Galore want’s to increase the profit of all of its stores, It is essential to answer previously raised questions. Along with that, if the owner get’s statistical data around sell of videos with respect to time of the day, that will help him to make profitable decisions. Also, if the customer demographic is more clearly understood for each store, it will allow him to avoid improper generalisation about its customers.