Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate withi

Cooperations contributing towards society will definitely help in growth of the environment in which it works.

Everyone’s goal in life is to become successful. The stpping stone for the ultimate success is, the growth or improvement in knowledge, experience, strength and such attributes. Therefore, it follows that, if an organisation is working towards improvment of the society, in which it works, it will eventually help that organisation in its own growth as well. For instance, in India, there is a huge trust on TATA products and services. Reason being, people of India have always seen TATA industries doing good for the people, be it through TATA trust or be it through sponsoring of events for environmental good.

Moreover, when an organisation participates in any social events, it is the employees of the organisation who actually take part. Such events help in improving awareness among the employees. Take for example, the event I had participated in “giving back” initiative on behalf of my firm. The event was of tree plantation. That event alone taught me lot of things. It helped me understand, how difficult it is to spot a point in the city, which will enable sustained growth of the plant. Not only that, it also taught me the importance of a paper, which is obtained through cutting of trees, and how much of a effort is required to obtain that. This lead me and my colleagues to have optimal use of the paper which, in turn, will save the cost of firm.

While it is comparitively easy for a larger, more stable organisations to participate in such activities, it can be equally difficult for organisations which are in start-up phase. Phase where they are uncertain of even producing profit! For such organisations there primary goal, atleast for first few years, should be to make profit. Once the firm seems relatively stable then it should definitely participate in such “giving back” events.

In the conclusion, while, I agree that there can be some issues for start-up organisations to contribute to society. But I have a strong opinion that every organisation should have some helping hand for its society.