"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The editor concluded that the resources should be invested in unmanned space flight rather than manned. To support his claims, he has listed some reasons. But while listing them the editor is neglecting some assumptions and veritability of some of his claims.

The first argument is made about the cost and safety of the manned missions, but the editor doesn't enumerate the risk and the cost factor. How risky are the manned missions, do they pose any life threats or there are some technological advancements that minimize the loss to only be pecuniary. If the this is true, then we should compare the amount of financial loss in the failures of manned and unmanned missions, and then only we can conclude.

The editor also mentions the successful missions series of the unmanned probes and satellites but forgot to compare it with the success rate of manned missions. What if the recent success of unmanned missions are related to some simple task. It is also possible that unmanned probes and satellites even though effective in simple missions can fail in convoluted tasks. Editor's argument could have been stronger if he had compared two similar missions done by manned and unmanned space flights.

The last claim that the editor has made doesn't satisfactorily strengthen his conclusion. 'Great deal of information' can't be quantified. Also the editor misses to mention how the unpredictable difficulties would be handled in the unmanned missions- situations like loss of communication or space storm, situations where immediate manual intervention is required.

All these open questions make the conclusion unconvincing. Answering these questions will make the editor's claim cogent.