The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum by the owner of Movies Galore paints an all-too-familiar picture of the state of the present day video rental industry, and while the situation and timeline may be different at the time he made this statement, the owner should not make a decision on whether reducing operating expenses is the best way forward without further investigation.

In order to combat Movies Galore's recent decline in profits, the owner has stated that nine out of ten of his stores should adopt the model that piloted in its downtown store: closing early and reducing video selection. While this change has succeeded in his stated goal of significantly decreasing operating cost, it is important to remember that his ultimate aim is to reverse Movies Galore's shrinking profits. With this in mind, the missing piece of the puzzle is whether these changes have negatively impacted revenue moreso than they have improved operating costs. If Movies Galore closes at 6pm instead of 9pm, it is possible that they are alienating customers who wishes to stop by after work and dinner to pick up a movie for the night. Similarly, eliminating the selection of older movies can also drive the customer to look for their favorite classic somewhere else, either at another store or online with entertainment providers such as Netflix. Once a customer finds another entertainment provider with a better selection, it is unlikely that they will come back to Movies Galore without further special bargains, which would reduce revenue even further.

While the caveats listed above are worth considering, they do not spell a definitive "no" for the owner's suggestion to implement changes to the rest of the Movie Galore chain similar to the one described for its downtown Marston location. If the changes has indeed brought down operating costs without significantly detrimenting the revenue, then it may be worth considering for the other stores. However, the owner may wish to exercise caution when extrapolating the downtown Marston case, even if it has proved to be successful. It may be the case that there is less competitors downtown and people have no choice but to adapt to the changes of the Marston store if they wish to watch a movie; however, this may not be true for suburban spaces with a mega-chainstore competing for the same business. What does not hurt revenue downtown may cut into revenue deeply in other places. Thus, the owner should investigate whether the customers of different stores may react differently to changes in the hours and selection.

Finally, it is worth mentioning that there are other ways of increasing profits besides cutting operating costs. The owner should explore alternative expansionary operations - such as increased marketing, enhanced services, more product selection, and perhaps an expansion into offering products through a different medium (e.g. online video rentals) - for two reasons. First, while expansionary strategies tend to increase operating costs in the short run, they can be a boon for the company in the long run. Second, by increasing presence of Movie Galore through various expansionary tactics, Movie Galore can potentially rebrand itself away from being a discount bargain store, and charge higher prices, ultimately increasing profits and profit margin. It is important for the owner not to get stuck on the notion that operating expenses is the only way to achieve his profit maximization goal, and to explore alternatives that may offer Movie Galore a much brighter future.