The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager's memorandum sparks a few questions that should to be answered before following her recommendation. Her recommendation is to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to prevent the loss of any further advertising revenues. Her recommendation is presented with only some of the facts, such as an increase in complaints concerned with the coverage of weather and local news, as well as local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts. Some further evidence is needed, such as: 1. What exactly were the complaints? 2. Do local businesses hold the same complaints, or do they have other issues with the television station? 3. Although the station is losing some viewers and advertising revenue from a certain demographic and certain local companies, was that gain made up for by an increase in global viewership and international firms advertising for the increased time devoted to national news?

In relation to the vague complaint, it is not clear what the complaints attacked: was the coverage of weather and local news too little or was it still too much? Maybe what had happened last year was that viewers had called into the station for complaints concerning the coverage of weather and local news being too high. Possibly, even as the station has reduced time for weather and local news over the past year, it is still too much for these viewers, possibly ones who are much more interested in the big picture news. These uncertainties about the complaints need to be cleared up. If indeed the complaints do ask for more local and weather news, then it would strengthen her recomendation. Otherwise, her recommendation would be extremely weak if the complaints wanted less local and weather news.

Regarding the local businesses' views on this matter, a question that I would ask the businesses is whether they hold the same issues as the station's general viewers. If in fact that the businesses are cancelling their contracts as a result of the same complaints, then that fact would strengthen the manager's argument. However, there could be underlying problems with the station that the local businesses are thinking about when they cancel their contracts. Perhaps the advertising costs have gone up by 3 times this year. Maybe there has been another channel that offers advertising fees at a significant discount to this station. Also, there could be that the economy is in a recession and that is the main driving factor of the recent cancellation of contracts. There are many extraneous factors that could be involved.

Finally, it may be the case that local viewers may be turning away from the channel and local businesses are refusing to advertise with the station. On the other hand, global viewership has gone up and international firms have come in to advertise on the channel. This would mean that advertising revenues have not dropped and everything is actually fine.

As a result, without this evidence, it is hard to assess whether the business manager's recommendation should be taken. The evidence for the clarity of the complaints, local businesses' view on the driving factor behind their contract cancellations, and the gains in national viewership will help one determine the validity of the manager's statement.