A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specfic circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I disagree with the recommendation of using a standardized national curriculum for all students until they enter college. In elementary, middle, and high school, children learn at various speeds that a 'one size fits all' solution will stultify. In addition, students have varying degrees of interests for different subjects in school; a rigid structure in school may not allow a child to explore and dive deep into their interest. However, there are indeed merits to using the same national curriculum to encourage a fair training ground that builds the youths' common and general skills, to a necessary level of competency, before expanding their interests in post-secondary education. This argument, I believe is fair, but actually gives students who are able to a 'jack of all trades' an advantage and limits the ones who want to specialize and be a master of one.

The 'one size fits all' solution for students may not be fair. Students have different speeds at which they comprehend and learn material from school. Some students are faster at reading or math, while some others may take some extra time and help to advance their skills to the same level. One example would be students who are classified under 'English as a Second Language student', or ESL. A new ESL student joining grade 3 would tend to struggle with reading comprehension and picking up the material that the other students have already a few years of experience in. In this sense, it would help if the ESL student is taught with a personalized, or language structured curriculum, allowing the child to catch up to speed. Otherwise, the child would be dragging behind from the onset, with no motivation to learn with the other kids.

Another fact is that students may have a range of interests that they would like to explore before entering college. From my experience - last time being in high school 6 years ago - students nowadays generally have a much clearer idea of what they want to achieve and become in their career as early as grade 9 or 10. I believe that it is an opportunity that should not be wasted if a child would like to explore their interests in economics or finance, for example, rather than forced to take the standardized courses such as geography, a course that they have already had exposure to for all of elementary and middle school and knows that they have less of an interest in.

The curriculum favours 'jack of all trades' rather than being a 'master of one'. This is a good idea to get all students on the same level, however, as mentioned previously, if a student has not the ability to catch up to their peers and also does not have the interest in becoming a generalist, it is a better idea to let them explore their own interests, at least when they've reached high school and are capable of thinking for themselves.

In conclusion, the common curriculum will stem students into a single track of growth. I disagree with the standard curriculum and I think that it will hurt students.