The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

As the Western society developed over the last few decades, the classroom has become a safer place for children, teenagers, and young adults everywhere. No longer is it acceptable for a teacher to censure their classroom in an overly harsh tone, let alone physically reprimand students for misbehaving. This shift comes from the belief that students thrive - in the classroom and beyond - in "safe spaces" where they are allowed to express themselves freely without being upbraided for their behavior. However, while it is true that rewarding positive behavior generally incentivizes the students to continue their good behavior in the future, it is dangerous for school teachers and others in mentorship roles to ignore negative behavior.

While developing, children learn to tell right from wrong by how the adults around them react to their behavior, both positive and negative. These moments are instrumental in the development of the child and should be viewed as opportunities to teach correct behavior. If a kindergartener is playing with his toy while a classmate approaches to join him, this can be an excellent opportunity to learn the virtues of sharing. However, if the same child refuses to share his toy, and his actions are ignored by the teacher, there is no way for him to learn the joys of sharing. Without acknowledgement of negative behavior, the teacher never gives his student a chance to correct it. Of course, it may be the case that the teacher then goes on the praise another student for sharing, but this at best delays a critical lesson and at worst is ignored by the initial student. Even in adults, the benefits of critical feedback is valued because each individual is often ignorant of his or her own shortcomings. This can clearly be seen in professional sports, where the best atheletes of the era still seem to need a coach to break down their positive and negative actions after an important game, we are simply not as self-aware as we would like to believe.

The advances we've made in the classroom to protect children has undoubtedly had a positive influence on students by reducing estrangement and increasing inclusiveness in the classroom. Severe punishments for a child is no longer acceptable, and that is positive for any student's mental and physical development. Nonetheless, the statement for teachers to not acknowledge negative behaviors at all is uncalled for because children can learn valuable lessons by being told which of their behavior is aceeptable and which are not.