The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The recommendation that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative actions doesn't very well shape the best and the most effective way of teaching according to me.

Teachers are those elements of a society who are sure responsible to bring out the best in their students but at the same time they can't just be ignoring negative actions. Instead, i believe, apart from encouraging positive actions, teachers should highlight negative actions in their students and help them get away from it so they can become better citizens. Overall growth and development of a student happens when he/she does not only outshine in the areas of their strength but also are able to overcome their areas of weakness or negativity.

Responsibility of a guide or teacher is to shape its students such that they are morally, socially and culturally sound. Let us take a scenario inside a class where a student is brilliant at maths but proves to be a disturbing element for the entire class. If the teacher just supports the student for his superb abilities in maths and neglects his disturbing activities in the classroom premises, the entire class of students and their understanding would go for a toss. Instead, the teacher should sit with the student and help him to become more cooperative and understand that every student has a different pace and he would have to keep patience with everybody. There are other several negative actions like cheating, bullying etc which cannot be overlooked instead have to be rectified so that children develop good etiquette and are able to increase plus points in their bucket.

Though it is the best way to keep praising positive actions along with rectifying negative ones, in some use cases, it becomes beneficial to just ignore the fallacies. For example, if a student has interest in the field of design and not in math class, he would seem to be self-engrossed and inattentive. He would not be able to score much in maths. In this case the teacher can ignore the inattentiveness and poor marks scored and instead try to motivate the child for what he is good at, i.e. design and help him succeed.

Praising positive actions and providing support sure has good results but ignoring the negative actions totally would not take us much far if we take it as a recommendation for the best way to teach.