The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

The author states that there’s a need for making some changes in other of the centers of a chain of video rental stores in order to avoid lowering profits, but the argument has some logic flaws and unbased assumptions.

First of all, the author states that the solution is to lessen the operating expenses, since recently profits have been decreasing. But maybe the problem is not that the expenses are high, but that the incomes are low, maybe in the recent times people were on vacation or just there weren’t many good new films that actracted consumers. The author should give us some more information on why this profits have decreased.

Secondly, the owner states that they can’t increase the prices since the acency is renowed for their lower prices. But it’s possible that every video rental stores have recently increased the prices for some external reasons, and therefore Movie Galore could still be one of the cheapest even if it increases a bit the costs. To agree with the owner, he has to ensure that the other companies haven’t changed their prices.

He then tells how he could reduce the operating costs significantly by making some changes, but he doesn’t say how “significantly” means. They could be relatively significant or absolutely significant, and in either cases it is not ensured that those lower expenses are enough to increas profits. Other than that it is not clear if this operation lowers the incomes, too. If that’s the case, then the profit may not increase: so he must say exactly what the expenses were before and how much are now, how the incomes change and then tell us if this change is enough to help the company.

Finaly he pretends that the other nine centers must follow those specific instructions, in order to get the same benefic results, but that’s not necessarily true: what works for one center may not work for the others. Thus, he must give us the motives that make him say that such modification will improve the profits for the other stores.

In the end, the conclusion can’t be taken for granted, unless the author can give us some informations: the causes of the profit decrease, the eventual changes in price of every store that rents video, the change in expenses and incomes due to the modification of the center he talks about, and the consequential change in profits, the reasons why if this operation worked once, it would work always, even in the other stores.