The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it might be true that home owners are interested to conserve energy; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that more efficient home appliances those save energy and new home insulation technologies are available, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, therefor not strong enough to guarantee energy conservation by home owners.

The author indicates that recent surveys shows that home owners wants to save more energy; however, the author does not provide any further information about surveys' sample group and type of questions. For example, it could be just few yes and no questions from small sample group which is not valuable results. Moreover, there is no guarantee if sample groups are going to conserve energy or not. To strengthen his or her argument, the author needs investigation about all home owners eager to conserve energy and their energy consuming amount.

Additionally, the author mentions that better home insulation technologies and more efficient home appliances are available, but the author does not talk about the price which is an important factor. If those home energy consuming devices such as refrigerators and air conditioners are expensive, residents are not going to buy them. As a result, there will be no energy conservation.

The author implies that construction of new generating plants is not necessary because energy demand will decrease based on past assumptions and also because there are already three twenty years old electric generating. However, the author does not mention about total population change during past twenty years that is essential to know. Moreover, one or two of the old generating might need to be replaced which will cost money.

This suggestion is persuasive when the author gathers information about population change, home electric instruments' prices, and survey details. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.