The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to inverstors :

Techno corporation is our top pick for the investment this term. We urge all our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed a stellite technology has been approvd by the FTA to compete with current satellite provider. The company is techno corporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of the respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not monopoly.Thus , the new venture of technocorporation into satellite televsion will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.

While it may be true that techno is indeed a good target of investment, the author’s arguments are far from cogent. The reasoning leading to the conclusion is rife with flaws and therefore a close examination is needed before investments should actually proceed.

The author boasts that techno is the first company in ten years to be officially granted entry into this market, and therefore is bound to grow big in the future. While it is indeed a dazzling achievement to have a satellite technology recognized by the government, this entry itself actually does not speak for how strong techno’...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.