Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are numerous ways a system can clean up its own mess: from watchdogs to whistleblowers, these self-disciplining bodies are the first line against misconducts. But are they effective enough? Wouldn’t, from time to time, there be someone or something too powerful or too damaging for disciplining institutions to deal with?

Here comes in the scandals. In most cases scandals are fantastically useful in battling the hidden darkness, as in the modern world it is the people who ultimately makes and destroys even the most powerful. Once a story is exposed to the public, no person or organization could ever suppress it again, be it in the US, the European nations, or even the “dictatorial” former USSR. Take president Nixon for example: arguably the most powerful person at the time, he was brought down by a single election misconduct. Neither his power and influence, nor that of the Democratic party, could intervene to save him. Were it not for the Watergate scandal, however, he would have been easily spared by internal investigations to serve, as they would shamelessly call, “the greater good”.

But the above beautiful account is not the whole story. From the very efficacy of scandals stems also the temptation to direct them for some entity’s own benefit. Or put more blatantly, the stories can be orchestrated or even fabricated to serve as weapons. The experience of Julian Assuage, the founder of WikiLeaks, could testify to this. To this day it is believed by a great many that his raping scandal either never happened or is a setup by the US security agencies: but this does not matter, for a scandal is all that’s needed for him to be arrested and put away. In this sense, scandals are far inferior to rational and responsible speakers or reformers, as what the story achieves could well be the wrong thing.

So, what is it that makes or unmakes the power of scandals in preserving justice? In my opinion is the will, freedom and capacity of the people’s civic participation. When and only when the people have the training, the ability, the chance and the will to come into these highly diffuse affairs and make out what the nation truly needs and then place their collective influence as “The People” to make what’s good a reality, can scandals serve as a positive tool for the society. The lack of any of the three essential ingredients, on the other hand, would allow the offender to either walk away through high pressure policies, as in many African countries with a pseudo-democracy, or find someone less important to take the blame.