The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of
Megalopolis. "In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who
went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15% over the last three
years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small,
general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher
salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms
most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller
firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most
agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to
them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate
firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and
incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work."
In this article, the author talks about how the graduates of Metropolis are
preferring small law firms over large, corporate firms causing a 15% decline
in the number of graduates going to these firms. This argument rests on a
series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it
stands.
To start with, graduates preferring small firms over large firms might not be
the primary reason for the 15% decline, many factors might have come into
play leading to the decline. It is entirely possible that job openings for the
past three years would have been minimal and an economy fall would have
resulted in this drop. Since the article, fails to account for this alternative
explanation for the 15% decline, the author cannot make any sound
recommendations to law firms based on this decline.
Furthermore, to consider the survey of first-year students at a leading law
school, the vocational goals of a first-year student doesn't reflect what the
student chooses after three years. In today's world, the changes taking
place are so rapid that no one can even predict what is going to happen at
the very next minute. Moreover, the survey was taken at a leading school,
a lone school does not account for the overall pool of students in the city,
so this again undermines the survey's relevance in prescribing any course
of action for Megalopolis' law firms.
Finally, the author mentions greater job satisfaction for students working at
small firms. Job satisfaction cannot be compared to how small or big a firm
is, both are independent entities. If a student is wholeheartedly enjoying
what he does, than if the student works in a small firm or a large firm
doesn't matter at all. Moreover, enhanced job benefits can be tantamount
to an enhanced salary, and shorter working hours amount to a higher
hourly wage. Thus if new law-school graduates seeking jobs in Megalopolis
are less interested in monetary rewards than in job satisfaction, then the
proposed incentives are not likely to entice these graduates.
In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it
stands. To strengthen it the author must either modify the proposal to
provide incentives for those seeking job satisfaction over monetary
rewards, or provide better evidence that new law school graduates seeking
jobs in Megalopolis would feel the proposed incentives enticing.