The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the article alleged that the number of hours that advertising manager sleep are in direct relation witj the success of the organizations they work for. And he concluded that companies should hire managers that need to sleep less than 6 houres. Although the reasoning of the writer looks cogent at first glance, when we delve deeper in the provided reasons, he fails to present adequate evidence for this conclusion. There ares some questions that be answered by the author to make the reasoning more reliable.

The first question is that; is the study conducted according to scientific manners? The author should provide additonal detail about the survey whether how they calculate their sleeping houres and how they find realtion between the sucess of their comanies with their sleeping houres. For instance, if the survey ask manager about sleeping hours, they may asnwer this question dishonsetly to show how they are active. Thus, the survey should approve their honesty. Is the study consider about other possibilities and eliminated them. For example, it is possible that number of workers and economic situation also be involved in the decicions.

Another question that should be answered is that why they just consider about sleeping hours at the night? The author should answer that if managers sleep during the day, their performance would change. For instance, some may prefer take a nap after lunch because they maintiain their performance would be increased. So, just considering about sleeping at night may could not address the issue completely.

Finally, The writer conclude that according to this survey, organizations should recurit manager that sleep less than 6 hours at night. Even if we ignore aforementioned flaws and accept the result of the servey, it would be unreliable to just hire these kind of persons. There are always exceptions in the society. If a company find an appropriate advertising manager and do not hire her or him just for sleeping time would be ridicule. There are lots of possibilities that the person would be effective for the organization. For instance, imagine a gifted person whose efficiancy more than double of other managers. Then sleeping more hours could not affect on the progress of the company.

In conclusion, the author of the article should address all of the aforementioned flaws to make more clearer. Then article could persuade the reader and the reader could act according the proposed study.