The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In all businesses it is important to consider the importance of the roles of executives for the success of the team. Therefore, it is an interesting piece of article. However, coming up with such an exact argument would require more than just the results of a single study. Here we can say that there are some assumptions either made or emitted, such as, the accuracy of the data, conditions of the different companies, the performance of rest of the team, possibility of applying same approach to all the work fields, etc.

To start we can always question the accuracy of the data. How reliable is the data provided by asking to the individuals? Because of various reasons the answers given might not represent the true amount of the sleep they are taking. An example for this type of behaviour can be trying to manipulate people about how hard working they are.

Another assumption here is that all the companies had same level of background and strength. We don’t have an information if the companies are in the same league in the first place. If they are, we don’t have the information about the rest of the teams beside the executives. Such that if some companies are originally prone to growth because of the background of the business or have better work force it would not necessarily mean that sleeping hours of the executives matter too much.

One more thing is that the tiredness levels and the working hours of the different business fields are very likely to differ as well. Therefore, it would not be true to approach based on the same data to all fields. A construction manager and a social media manager has completely different work conditions.

In conclusion, we can say that it is important to pick the right people for the management positions, however the standard applied here cannot be just the sleeping hours of the candidates. Because, there are too many other factors that is needed to be considered in a company’s success. So that, the argument based on the study shown above has too many assumptions that would not hold true most likely and cannot be trusted.