Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Welcome the guest looking at his/her outfit, send away looking at their character, is a saying I have heard a lot. Looks like judging the book by the cover been around for a long time at least to some extend. However, our prompt claims one step further and I am afraid I should mostly agree with this stance thinking of the various situations and the cases I have witnessed.

Firstly, I would like to start by mentioning various social experiments on social networks and also some similar examples of my own connection circle that, too many people judge the others by the image that everyone sees, rather than looking behind the portrait drawn. One type of the most common examples of these social experiments are around known with the name “gold digger” where a guy approaches to a woman kindly but looking poor gets rejected very rudely at first. Then the same guy comes back with a luxury sports car and the very same woman would jump in there like she is not the same person. These experiments are one of the examples that in social life there are lots of cases people just look at the image to decide whether they will give you a chance or not in the first place and makes me to think that the prompt reflects the reality.

Secondly, it is not just in the social life, there are studies and personal examples as well showing the same type of the behaviour in the business life too. There are too many cases that when there is a job posting one would build a fake resume and one would go with his own credentials, where in the interview the same person would fake it accordingly and get the job without any further background check while the honest applicant will be left out. This situation is unfortunately supporting the claim in the prompt as well.

On the other hand, I should also mention that is not the case in all the times. First, we can go back to the examples above for instance. Not all the people are the same when they build their social life connections, some people actually do not care how do you look or how do you present yourself, they actually value your personal and real qualities over the advertised one. Same with the job applications, some HRs and the managers attending the hiring process are very careful in their work and do their best to hire the right candidate without being fooled by the wrong self representations. Beside these cases there are some specific cases that the image is not seen by anyone at all. For example, there is no human interaction involved in some exams and whatever is your potential is graded directly by the machines or anonymously. In this case it would not support the idea that an appealing image would be more important than the reality.

In summary, although still there are plenty of cases where the image you form is not more important than the reality, there are a lot more cases and a trend towards where the cover of the book become more important than the content itself. Therefore, I believe the idea in the prompt mostly holds correct.