The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the proposal the vice-president is offering monitoring the workers internet usage and the time spent on the personal activities to increase the productivity and the profits of the company. However, vice-president seems to be making some assumptions to back up his argument. Which, if proven wrong, will be a big factor in the weakening of the position.

Firstly, the vice-president is assuming that the workers are using the company computers when they are doing something personal. While it is possible that people might be using the internet in the office for out of work reasons, it does not necessarily have to be the work computers. They can be using their personal electronics for those reasons and in that case installing a monitoring software would not be helpful to restrict it. Therefore, vice-president’s argument will be weakened that monitoring the internet activity will increase the productivity.

Secondly, the proposal is assuming that the employees are actually wasting time in the office and it needs to be reduced. In fact, there is not any data or information showing that happening. It is possible that the workers are doing their best and the profits are in their highest possible point already. If that is the case, the argument and the proposal in the report will automatically become irrelevant.

In summary, while the general idea and correlation between not wasting time and higher productivity makes sense in order to pursue the proposal the assumptions we discussed above should be confirmed. Such that, if the workers are actually wasting time surfing the internet during the business hours and if they are using the work computers to do so. If both assumptions are in the favour of the vice-president, then it would make sense to install the software to monitor the employees.