The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared withWistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

While it is a good idea to consider the actions of the people that are in a better condition than you, it is also important to understand those steps and their implications properly. In the proposal above the author is referring to the study and the plan the other school implemented last year to support the idea of applying the same program in their own school. However, there can be some other explanations to the case other than the one presented in the argument. Firstly, we are not given the date when the study was conducted. If the study was conducted before last year it would obviously show no correlation with 40 percent difference in need for the medical attention. One alternative explanation could be that, Chmpsfield town has a higher life quality in general. If the people of the town are rich comparing to the people of the other towns, they would have more chances to take care of their health and life styles more while the population of the poorer town don't have that ability. In that case it will also relate to the fact in the passage that healthy food and exercie is a factor in a healthier life. Such that if we consider the people being reacher in Champsfield we can assume that they are able to afford the money and time to eat healthy and do sports. On the other hand, probably the childeren in the town of the Wistfold is seeking medical treatment on the illnesses that re not relted to the mulnutrition. As it is mentioned in the passage, excercising is also important to stay healthy. Probably they are eating healthy but having other bad habbits that would trigger their illnesses. So, while the promoting healthy life style and eating habits would be crucial in lower numbers of medical treatments, it could be related to many factors other than the banning of the fast food in the school area