The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

This business article concludes that in order to prosper businesses should hire only such people for whom sleeping for 6 hours per night is enough. To justify this conclusion the article’s author notes that a recent study found an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of the firms they manage; the most profitable and fast-growing firms were operated by the managers who slept less than 6 hours per night. This conclusion rests on a couple of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the success of a firm is not always is a result of an executive's work alone, let alone his sleeping routine. The success, in fact, depends on numerous factors, such as employees’ work efficiency, the economic situation in the city and country it operates in, the actions of its competitors, etc. Since the article fails to account for the analysis of the other factors’ influence that might be involved, the article’s author cannot make any sound recommendations to businesses based on the found association between the amount of sleep the executives need and how successful their firms are.

Secondly, a found association does not always mean that it is correct and that it makes sense. One should always assess the meaningfulness of an obtained coefficients and the soundness of the model. As the article does not provide any information about the analysis process and the extent of the association found, we cannot and should not be easily persuaded by it without seeing the actual numbers.

Finally, the article does not provide us with a timeline of the study. The statistics gathered could reflect just one month or one year numbers which do not necessarily represent the whole trend of development existing in the firms. It could be the case that there was an economy was simply burgeoning when the study took place, making the obtained results aberrant, whereas before or after it the numbers representing profit margins and growth were completely the opposite. For this matter, unless the timeline of the study is known, no conclusions can be drawn from it.

In sum, the conclusion is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To bolster it the author must provide clear evidence that the growth of the mentioned companies was the result solely of their executives’ managerial skills, the numbers behind the built model and the timeline of the study.