The following appeared as part of an article in a popular science magazine.

Scientists must typically work 60 to 80 hours a week if they hope to further their careers; consequently, good and affordable all day child care must be made available to both male and female scientists if they are to advance in their fields. Moreover, requirements for career advancement must be made more flexible so that preschool-age children can spend a significant portion of each day with a parent."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

It is true that scientists have to work hard to further their careers since it takes an enormous amount of time and patience for any new finding or invention for example. Newton had to work day and night before he was able to reshape modern physics. Modern scientists also have to work for long hours to further advance their theories and science which in turn proves to be pivotal for their careers. Inventions were not made in a night, but required hours of input and sometimes years to complete.

The article suggests that scientists must typically work 60 to 80 hours a week to enhance their careers and supports the argument with an assumption that good and affordable child care must be made available to both male and female scientists if they are to advance in their fields. The assumption highlights the part that good and affordable child care is essential for any scientists aiming to endure their career. A good and affordable child care ensures a healthy and beneficial environment for the child to learn and grow. This would also result in a proper and appropriate uprising for the child which could be fruitful in shaping future his future.

The article substantiates a conclusion stating career advancement must be made more flexible so that preschool-age children can spend a significant portion of each day with a parent is plausible to certain extent. It is true that children are the future of the country. The younger generation plays an important role in shaping the countries future as they are the asset for any country. Giving right education from the beginning not just academically but socially as well is very significant. The conclusion drawn by the article if valid could undermine the fact that academic scholars are the ones that take any country towards advancement. Having flexible schedule so that a child is able to send more time with his parents would aid his social development to a certain extent but would not help him academically. School is were children develop their academics and social development.

In conclusion, the article fails to substantiate the conclusion drawn with plausible statistics and claims.