Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should provide universal healthcare. Give reasons and details to support your answer.

When it comes to Healthcare, people often tend to compare it with “Food for all” as having a universal and good healthcare system is as important as having food for all. During these times of pandemic, it is pivotal to note that healthcare played a crucial role in mitigating the impact of such epidemics. A good healthcare system is not just about being able to provide quality services, but also one that is available and accessible to everybody. And when it comes to providing services for the entire nation, it cannot be denied that it is the government’s duty to ensure a system that is accessible for every citizen, whether poor or rich.

The government has an obligation to provide services like food, health, defense, and many more to the country’s people. It has the resources and power to serve the entire nation. The government can bring in policies that ensure universal healthcare that includes the private sector as well. They have the power to cap on the private sector so that they don’t charge hefty prices on health services. It is true that many times private health care systems tend to attract more when it comes to quality, but it is also important to note the price that one has to pay in order to get those quality services.

The poor on the other hand are often excluded and it is the government’s duty to make sure that there is a universal healthcare system. A combination of the public and private sectors under government policies could be a key solution for having an omnipresent healthcare system. The rich or the upper-class people of society can access the private services and the poor or lower class on the other hand can access public services.

In conclusion, it is the duty of the country’s policymakers to have a universal healthcare system. The government in a way is obliged towards providing services that are accessible for the entire population. The country’s bureaucrats are answerable to questions like “Who is accountable for providing health and food for all, and ensuring a just society?”. The effect Covid-19 had on the world is something where factors like “Universal Healthcare” played a major role. The government has to understand the need for building a system that is universal.