The following appeared as part of the business plan of an investment and financial consulting firm.

“Studies suggest that an average coffee drinker’s consumption of coffee increases with age, from age 10 through age 60. Even after age 60, coffee consumption remains high. The average cola drinker’s consumption of cola, however, declines with increasing age. Both of these trends have remained stable for the past 40 years. Given that the number of older adults will significantly increase as the population ages over the next 20 years, it follows that the demand for coffee will increase and the demand for cola will decrease during this period. We should, therefore, consider transferring our investments from Cola Loca to Early Bird Coffee.”

Business plan of an investment and financial consulting firm stated that average coffee drinker's consumption of coffee increases with age and this report also said for cola that cola drinker's consumption of cola declines with increasing age. These trends have remained stable for the past 40 years. This plan also stated that older adults will significantly increase in next 20 years. So, firm wants to transfer their investments to Cola Loca to Early Bird Coffee. This argument may has merit at first site. However, plan has many unaddressed assumption and forgets to consider so many things. So, we can say argument is deeply flawed.

Here plan first said about studies on coffee drinker and cola drinker. It stated that average coffee drinker's consumption increase with age and totally alternative for cola drinker. However this study does not provide any proper evidence. If a choosen persons for survey like the coffee at coffee place and cola drinker does not like taste of cola at cola place then coffee consumption is getting high against cola. A person with young age is not health conscious and does not have much stress and health realted problems and at studies where free drinks are given, a person with young age choose cola over coffee and sophisticated and old man choose coffee. So, this study results might be ambiguous as it forgets to consider many point as health issue and mindset of person. They also forget to mention total number of members in studies of coffee and cola consumption. If cola drinkers are much higher than coffee drinker then increasing consumption with age result does not provide proper evidence to transfer investment because it may hurt revenue of the firm.

Plan also mentioned that this trend have remained stable for last forty years and older adults population will significantly increase in next 20 years. Now, this statement suggest that over last 40 years person mindset does not change. So, if a person likes a cola and getting old then he always going to choose cola without considering his age. In advance cola is one of the good consumed drink among young and kids, in future cola can become favourite drink among them. So, if during last 40 years person did not change their own individual mindset, how they will do this now? So, a cola drinker always consume cola. So, transferring cola to coffee might become a bad choice because of next 20 years prediction over last 40 years result without considering current young persons' mindset who are going to become older in next 20 years.

Report lastly suggested about changing investment plan cola to coffee but they did not mention current brand value or revenue of either company. If cola company has much more customer than coffee company has then it will give huge loss to firm. So, if a firm wants to change then they have to consider brand value, customer numbers and reputation of company.

So, above point is weakens the argument. If firm wants to transfer their investment without considering proper points and just based on some studies without investigating evidence then it will put company into fearful position. So, company has to do proper research and consider unaddressed assumption of study then they will able to take proper decision.