There is only one definition of success-to be able to spend your life in your own way.

In Humankind evolution, if a person choose to live in 2 ways then we have two kind of results: one that is spoiled that does not work and is bad for society and another that choose to spend their life to follow their passion and leads to revolve society. So, we can not agree with author's success definition because a person can lead his lif but he has to follow some convention.

If a person thinks that if he will be able to spend his life in own way that makes him successful then he is thinking wrong. Sometimes, leading your life in own way make you eccentric and make you peculiar. Keeping societical rules make you enjouy your life in systematic way and help you to lead your life in systematic way. If we think about a person who is highly intelligent but kind of peculiar and care free attitude then sometimes he make a choice that leads him to some trouble that hurts his reputation and make feel like lose. If a person break a traffic signal and describe it as his own way to not believe in traffic rules then that leads towards accident. If a person does not believe in monetory and taxes rules that leads to leagal action by government. Yes, you can lead your life in your own way if that makes you happy but there is one boundry and you can't define whole success parameter by choosing own way of spening life.

If we think that person who spends his own life by own thoughts and told himself successful then what about other great scientis, social servicing person and other persons who help to society to revolve. You have some responsibility towards society. Which you can fulfill under your own belief by pursuing something that help humankind. If we take example of newton - he has own belief and want to spend his life in own way. However he did choose science and give great formula that led many scientific revolutionary device. Steve jobs and Bill gates are also example of choosing a career that makes them successful by spending life their own way but they did not forget about helping humankind. If a person has whole community thoughts in his own way then we can describe himself as successful. However, if a person doesn't have ability to fulfill his own life then how can we descibe him as successful person.

There is a concept about happiness. If you follow your hobby then there is a more chance of getting successful inside that field because of you like what you are doing. If a person is doing great work, earning money, respect and follow his passion then we can say he is successful and leading his life in own way. But there is some rules that he has to do work and get out of his comfort zone to do some great work. However, if a person spends his own life in own way then that may be create chaotic situation in that person's life as he doesn't know about future and that becomes threat for his family and for person himself. So, if a person wants to describe himself as a successful then he has to do something great for community or for at least for himself. If a wright brothers does not belive his own thoughts and spend life for achieving that then we never have a plane to ride. If a writer does not believe in his own creativity then we does not have so much good literature. If a fashion designer does not love what he does and does not trust his instincts then that does not make him successful. However a person has to choose a profession and work for that because spoiling it calling it own way does not make you successful.

If a person wants to get recognition as successful then by spending his own life in own way is not a perfect definition because success has also parameters like how much he influenced the society and also money. So, without spoiling life and giving name as own way if a person wants to be successful then he has to choose own way that helps him to make better person.