The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Personal Director at Acme Publishing Company recommended that Every employee of his company must take Easy read Speed-Reading course because many other companies’ statement about this course about increasing productivity. Director mentioned evidence as one graduate can read 500 page report in 2 hours and another one become vice president. This course has 500$ fees and making it mandatory increase productivity of every employee. Director’s recommendation may has merit though he forget to consider many unaddressed assumption, undefined inconsistencies. So, this suggestion is highly flawed.

In recommendation, Director mentioned that speed reading course increase productivity with an example of one graduate who can read 500-page report in 2 hours. However if this course is work for only one person, how can we become sure about everyone? As person has natural tendencies and characteristics. This graduate might be more productive and speedy in terms of reading. So, his skills improve more than others Even though we can not generalize it for everyone without considering overall result of speed-course students productivity.

There is one more example cited by director is about another graduate that become vice president from assistant manager in one year span. May be course helped him but that doesn’t mean that his progress fully reliable upon this course. Director has to consider work, social skills, leadership skills and experience at others’ place. Without considering achievements of person and gave full credits to speed reading course might leads towards vagueness. As course might increase speed of reading but doesn’t improve social skills which help you promote in your job.

One line invoked by director is more speedy reading increase productivity as it helps in absorbing more ideas in short amount of time. However this is not true in every case. Suppose one person reads daily 1000 pages and remembers 100 pages and another one reads 500 pages daily and remember 200 pages. So, obviously second one has more productivity as it absorb more ideas and understand concept instead of just reading words. So here, president forgets to consider that faster reading, increase productivity of employee.

Director also insisted for every employee about taking course which has cost about 500$ and this might be small amount for director though it does not mean for all employee. If one person is broke and work in company then he does not want to spend any penny in unnecessary things. If company provides money for all of their employees then without considering number of employees director can’t stated that this is a small amount. So, in motive of increasing productivity company may be lost so much revenues.

The argument above is weakens the basis of recommendation given by director. Speed reading course might increase speed of person’s reading but that does not mean increased productivity because of lack of evidence. So, Instead of putting blind trust in recommendation of director’s, company has to consider other points and do research about this course.