Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period , most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news.

In the memorandum by manger of television station stated that increasing national news and attrition of local and weather news cause a lots of complains about this issue. He also stated that because of this issue they lose one contract of advertising of late-night shows. So, he suggests that restore the weather and local news show time in late-night program. However, this argument of manager has many unaddressed assumption, and lack of evidence. Despite of counting merit this argument is highly flawed.

Manager mentioned that during increased time period of national news, most of the complains received from viewers were concerned with station is coverage of local and weather news. Here he stated that most of the complaints but forgets to account to if number of complains are increased of decreased. Suppose there is a lots of complain about not covering important national news but now there is total 10 percent of that list and most of them about is local and weather news then it does not effect the business of new station. There is no statement in complaint that viewers only needs local and weather news at night. Instead of they complaint about overall coverage of local and weather news.

Manager stated that they lose one advertising contract of late-night program but he forgets to consider that company reduced their budget because of inevitable circumstances because of that company has to stop reduce their advertising cost. Here we have to also consider new offer made for advertising because of national news as national news brings national level advertising brands despite of just local business company. As one company cancel contract with channel but new business companies will come because of covering national news and channel earn more money because of bidding between.

Manger finally suggests that channel has to restore the local and weather news program at night and instead of national news if channel wants to attract more viewers and does not want to lose more revenues. But Manger has to consider that local and weather news does not bring that much viewers as national news does. Cause we can say nation always has more population than any local area. After losing only one contract we can’t conclude that channel is going to lose all of its’ revenue. Nationals news always bring more and high advertising contracts then any local business company. So it always encourage channel economical flow.

The argument above is weakens the basis of the suggestion given in the letter. Because of national news broadcasting at night cause some of complaints and lose one contract of advertising but because of national news channel can earn more money because of increasing viewer from all over country and contract from national level business companies. So Instead of putting blindly trust in manager’s statement, channel needs to research and consider more valid points.