The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery:

The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.

Report presented for discussion at a meeting of directors of company that manufactures parts of heavy machinery stated the reason for falling revenues of company is because of delays in manufacturing and that is because of poor planning in purchasing metals. That blames goes on head to manager who is excelled in general business, psychology and sociology but lack of knowledge about mettle properties. So, company wants to tranfer manager to sales and wants to bring a scientist from research division to be manager in purchasing department. However, this report has many flaws. As it forgets to consider many unaddressed assumption and having many inconsistancies. So, this argument is deeply flawed.

A report stated the reason for decreasing revenue is delay in manufacturing and that is because of poor planning in purchasing. But what if a manufacture department give wrong message to purchase department which end up having wrong planning and gives wrong result to company. If a revenue is falling then we can't conclude that this is because of delays in manufacturing without specific evidence. If one company break a contract, poor quality from manufacture department and poor attitude from seller also leads towards same result. So, without considering other parameters and giving blame to poor planning in purchasing metals for falling revenue is not insightful by directors of company.

There is also mentioning about skills of manager in psychology, sociology and general business but he does not possess a knowledge of metal properties. So, they want to transfer him to selling department and want to bring a scientist from research department to be a manager. Though, a research division scientist does not know how to consult a supplier and how to reduce cost as old manager knows because of his knowledge of general business. In purchasing metal that much knowledge of metal properties does not required because this department just give order as manufacturer and research division wants. If a scientist comes as a manager and he failed to communicate with staff and also with supplier then that may create a chaotic situation for company and that leads towards more revenue lose. But an old manager has knowledge and good background in sociology and psychology he may handle this things differently. SO, scientist may possess knowledge of metals but does not possess a knowledge of handling unwanted situation

As director board wants to transfer manager to sells department which works perfectly and wants to remove most experience member from purchasing department then that may create some bad feeling inside employee of that department because if they are facing trouble then they need more and experienced guy not more transfer. So, choosing this option does not lead any more profit.

Above argument weakens argument made by board of directors. As they did not consider other departments' work and want to transfer experienced manager but this did not help to stop decreasing revenues. So, they have to find out proper reason and then consider proper action.