The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The newsletter published by the Dean is about the graduates and undergraduate students of University Wabash being included in charity work for charitable organisations in that particular locality. There are many logical fallacies and unwarrented assumptions in the above mentioned prompt upon which I will be shedding light.

Firstly, they say the students are allowed only to help local charities that are approved by the Dean's office. On what basis do they select these local charities? It has to be selected based on if man power is even required, what kind of charity it is, and what kind of help is required. For example, some charities just require volunteers or interns for fundraising, which does not require as much man power and is not time consuming, and might not even need 8 hours. Then wil the work done by students still count, although it does not meet the time criteria as mentioned by the Dean?

Fundraising is one of the tasks that does not need any kind of training for the students and is a meaningful way for helping the charitable organisations. Fundraising is not a byzantine task which requires toilsome work. So, the list of local charities/ organisations should be clearly given, along with their mission, purpose and what they expect from the students.

Secondly, what if students were to help or work in some other organisation as a volunteer of their choice? Why should it have to be through the University? The students should be free to choose the organisation they want to help or volunteer in and should not be coereced by the University. Some students may have some personal attachement or a reason to choose a charity in which case they would work even harder to get a win. For examle, a student who has lost one of his or her gradparents to cancer, so he or she might want to help cancer patients by helping them physically and emotionally. In this case the student should be free to do so.

Thirdly, they have said that it is the only way to give back to the society, which is a fallacy as there are many other ways to give back to the society as well. For example, discovering a cure for a gruesome disease which would help the patients who are suffering with that particular disease.

In conclusion, the argument is based on many unwarrented assumptions and does not hold together when examined in detail. The argument needs to be more concrete and with less loopholes so that it doesnot fall apart when ramified. To recapitulate, the University's community service requirement or program needs a lot more organising and details to bridge the gaps.