The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The university of Wabash is considering to impose a graduation requirement for the students to perform some unpaid community service in the pursuit of preparing students as well-rounded and charitable members of society. It is also being concluded that the local charities in need will recieve required help to continue their efforts after above consideration is enacted. But the validity of this argument can be challanged based on certain unstated assumptions the author has made. These assumptions have been scrutinized below.

First of all the authour has not mentioned anything which shows a relationship between performing some community service and this leading to the developement of any individual towards being well rounded and charitable. A strong evidence or perhaps, a research study should be presented before concluding that a community service by any student will lead him to become a well-rounded and charitable member of the society.

Again, the author fails to address what kind of help do these charities need and assumes that help needed by charities can be invariably provided by the university students. Is it really what a university can offer? or to be specific, these students can offer? For instance, say these universities are willing to provide man power to these charities which is actually not needed. Under such situations, the final conclusion that charities will recieve the required help to continue their efforts is invalidated.

Even if the above points are true, author still fails to mention anything about why particularly eight hours of community service for a total of nine months will prove sufficient to achieve a well-rounded and charitable person. Is this claim based on a research or these are just numbers came out of nowhere into the picture are needed to be addressed. Hence before concluding these given numbers, a more thorough study was needed which author seemingly has failed to accomplish.

The argument, as of now, turns out to be flawed because of the unwarrented assumptions explained above. If the author is able to provide justifications for each of the above assumptions, then the validity of argument can be concluded succesfully