As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is apparent how advancement in technology, leads our generation towards a state of tranquality. It is not astonishing to see how the technology updates has aided humans in problem solving over decades. But one would certainly ask the question,”is the ability of humans to think for themselves detoriating?”. In my opinion, I would partially agree with the given statement and I would like to ascribe two reasons in support of the statement while one reason contorary to the given statement.

First of all, people have started relying on technology to solve their routine problems. This can be made apparent by considering one of the expanding fields of technology in modern times, “Artificial Intelligence” or AI. What AI does is, it enables user to input any mundane problems and answer this question based on experiences and earlier data stored over the internet. The question is analysed and relevant advises are put forward before the user. With the increase in marketability of artificial intelligence, people are becoming more and more stale. This is a clear indication of how people have stopped solving problems on their own and their thinking ability to solve problems is detoriating.

Again, people have stopped discovering answers to new types of questions on their own. This can be explained as follows. A study from a university in California has found that, aptitude problem solving skills among the students in the last ten years has plummeted. They asserted technology as a major reason for this downfall by certain examples. For example, a tool ‘Mathematica’ has been developed to solve complex integrations in no time. Traditional mathematicians spent days and sometimes even months trying to solve these integrations by themselves. On contrast, contemporary researchers use this tool to solve their problems. This leads to people becoming less creative and later fail to trun up to their expectations. In this wat the study states an imporatant conclusion of how technology is detoriating the human ability to think.

But a contrasting theory would suggest how this thing has not detoriated the ability of humans to think but actually aided to improve it in numerous cases. Considering the number of research documents published in a famous journal last year and comparing it with the number ten years ago, one can easily find that the number has quadrapled. Conclusion made by the journal authority was advancement in technology. With upgrading technology, scientists find it easier to solve the toughest problems and this provides them with time to solve the next part of the same questions. In some sense they tend to think more and on a wider aspect in a short period of time. This actually has enhanced thinking ability in a number of cases since they work through a number of problems in less time.

Concluding, one would always agree the bright side of technology and how it is helping researchers, but again based on the first two reasons,we can see how technology is detoriating thinking ability of human beings.