"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum suggests the restoration of time devoted to weather and local news to its former level so as to attract more viewers to the program. This is concluded based on complaints in the last one year along with the loss the television station had to face in one last year since advertising contracts got revoked. This conclusion superficially looks persuasive. But, it has some hidden flaws in it which are based on certain assumptions.

First of all, the author has failed to mention the relationship between advertising contracts by local business contractors and restoration of the devoted time to weather and local news. It may be possible that even after restoring the weather and local news time durations to their orignal positions would not affect the advertising time periods. In such a case, since there is no direct relation between the conclusion and advertising stuff, one cannot say that local businesses after the implementation of stated conclusion would again start making contracts with the television station since the business contractors have nothing to do with what is being shown on the televisions station, may it be national news, weather news or local news. This weakens the argument.

Secondly, the author has not clearly mentioned about the complaint sources. Whether they were from a small group of people sending tons of letters again and again has not been mentioned. If this goes true, then the conclusion gets challanged since the survey was improper. If the author provides evidence of the study or a survey based on which he concludes that a vast majority of viewers feel the same concern, then maybe the validity of argument will hold true.

Lastly, the author has not mentioned in what sense were these viewers concerned. Whether they disliked the show, so that these viewers have started looking for other shows, is not clearly mentioned. Maybe they liked the show but were concerned more about some false statements or irrelevant content being stated. If this is the actual cause of concern, then one needs to modify the content of current programs and not show timing weightage itself. In such a case, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level may really result in a greater number of viewers turning up to the television station.

The argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed, due to its assumption on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide justification for the above assumptions, then the validity of the arugument can be assured.